Robert McClure is co-founder and executive director of InvestigateWest. At the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Robert exposed a major weakness in the Endangered Species Act and deficiencies in Puget Sound restoration efforts. His reporting on hard-rock mining won the John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism. A longtime former board member of the Society of Environmental Journalists, he currently serves as chairman of the editorial board of SEJournal, the group’s quarterly publication. Seattle Magazine in 2013 chose him as one of Seattle’s “most influential” people.


Belinda Littlefield is an administrative assistant at InvestigateWest. Her academic background is in Russian language and culture and comparative literature. Originally from Connecticut, she spent the past five years teaching English in South Korea before moving to Washington. Her work for InvestigateWest includes marketing, research, story production, donor tracking and development.


Contributing Writers

Allegra Abramo is a freelance writer based in Seattle. Her work for InvestigateWest includes the 2016 statehouse reporting project and ongoing reporting on Washington’s foster care system. You can reach her at

Rebecca Clarren is a journalist based in Portland, Oregon. Her journalism, for which she has won the Hillman Prize, an Alicia Patterson Foundation Fellowship, and nine grants from the Fund for Investigative Journalism, has appeared in such publications as MotherJones, High Country News, The Nation, and Her first novel, Kickdown (Sky Horse Press, 2018), was shortlisted for the PEN/Bellwether Prize.


Mara Kardas-Nelson is a freelance journalist based in Berkeley, Calif. She is currently pursuing a Masters in Journalism and Masters in Public Health at UC Berkeley. Her work has appeared in The NationAl Jazeera, the Mail & Guardian, and NPR, among others.


Documentary and feature photography is shot by Dan DeLong, Leah Nash, Mike Kane, Adam  and Paul Joseph Brown.

Contributors and Alumni

Brad Shannon – Rachel Nielsen – Sally Deneen – Peter Fairley – Sergio Olmos –  Lee van der Voo – Adiel Kaplan – Ashley Stewart – Christopher Dunagan – Ben DeJarnette – James Gordon – Lael Henterly – Kate Martin – Olivia Henry – Claudia Rowe – Will Graff – Stephanie Schendel – Carol Smith – Rita Hibbard

Board of Directors

Kristen Millares Young, journalist and author, President
Don Smith, retired, Treasurer
Brant Houston, Knight Chair in Investigative and Enterprise Reporting, University of Illinois, Secretary
Mike Green, co-founder of ScaleUp Partners, LLC
Berit Anderson, CEO and co-founder, Scout Holdings
Beverly Wyse, The Boeing Co., retired
Paul Joseph Brown, retired photojournalist



Note: All titles for identification purposes only.